SU GREAT and SWAC ICON DIES

THAMES

Su Track Legend Willie Davenport Deceased

A local radio station in Baton Rouge is reporting that Southern former track and field star Willie Davenport passed away last night in a Chicago airport of a heart attack. Back in the day, He and Rodney Millbourne were SU track legends. They are now both gone.

All, I just received word that former SU Track Standout and Gold Medal Winner, Colonel Willie Davenport passed away yesterday of a fatal heart attack returning from a trip to South Dakota. I've been working closely with COL D for the past three years here at the National Guard Bureau in Arlington, VA promoting the accomplishments of National Guard Athletes in competitive sports. He was serving as the Chief of Competitive Sports for The National Guard Bureau. For those of you who do not know, COL D won a Gold Medal in the 110-meter hurdles at Mexico City in 1968 and took the Bronze at Montreal in 1976. He finished fourth at Munich in 1972. He completed his Olympic Career as a member of the 1980 U.S. Bobsledd Team.

This is unbelievable! When he was past 30 I remember seeing him run in a meet before he went to Montreal in the mid ‘70s. This was a very old age for a track athlete to be running during those days. Yet, he finished third. His competitors were about 9-12 years younger than he was.

My condolences go out to his family, and may his soul rest in peace.

COL'S D BIO

Listed below is a sketch of the "COL."

WILLIE D. DAVENPORT
"BREEZE"

Biographical Sketch

Breeze - - to move swiftly and airily; to make progress quickly and easily - - and a nickname given to Willie D. Davenport by his track friends. Recognized best for his achievements in the area of track and field, Willie Davenport was the first U. S. hurdler to compete in summer Olympic games. He made the Olympics for the fifth time in 1980, switching to the Winter Olympics and, with his team, setting a world record during the trials.