How, Why Did You Choose Your College Major?

Bartram

Brand HBCUbian
Because it's always what you wanted to be?

For the money?

Family pressure/suggestions?

Seems easy to get you through college while having the time of your life?

Was not really sure going into college and just got into it and liked it?

And for those of you who are out of college and working, are you directly in the field you majored in and involved directly in what you went to school for? Are you enjoying it or are you going to make a career change to something you have always wanted to do?

Lastly, would you VOLUNTEER in the major that you are in if their were no paying jobs available between jobs until you could get one; totally on your own time and at your own expense?

:)

I majored in Criminal Justice. It's always what I wanted to do.

I am working directly in that field now. I am enjoying it. I would do it volunteerily in between jobs if need be. I do plenty of it volunteerily when I'm not on the clock too. Somebody always calls or stops me to talk about their baby cousin's stepsister's Dad's third cousin on their Momma's side.

I always advise young adults to get a degree in something you would do for free and would actually look forward to doing everyday without being forced to.

I basically needed one class to become a full time student. I went
to the registration table and decided to take Intro to Sociology. The instructor was an attorney and an officer of the court and that impressed me. The way that the class was taught made me think and I looked in the catalog and was interested in the classes in the major, so I majored in Sociology with the intent of going into law enforcement. Things happened after I graduated ffrom college that prevented me from working in law enforcement, but I work in Social Services and the direction that I will go in is broad
SU don't know?