5 years ago on today's date:

yvette23

I received my BA in English from Alabama State University May 10, 1997, around the same time of day as this post.

My question for those of you who are no longer in college is: do you ever look back and wished that perhaps you had done some things differently?

Don't get me wrong.........I had sooooooo much fun at ASU and there are plenty of times I wish I could go back and do it all over again!! :lol: But there are times that I feel that I didn't really accomplish much after graduation........I'm not working in my related field at all; I ended up in Information Technology because of the money and I had some experience.

The reason I'm asking this question is because I am trying to build my career, but I don't know where to start; some people say I should stay in IT because of the money and the constant growth and change in Technology; but I majored in English for a reason and that is because I enjoy literature. Even though I work in IT, I am currently working on certification to teach English in middle/high school in the event of a layoff or if I decide to go postal!! :lol:

What do you think? :confused:

I think that is a very good idea, if you really want to teach. There are so many people (even in my building) who are here because they "had bills to pay." That is not the reason someone should go into teaching. A ninja can go to work flipping burgers and pay some bills.

The only thing I could see myself doing differently after college is going immediately to grad school. I wish I had started sooner. I could be finished now, instead of trying to start in the fall.

Oh well, better late than never, I guess.

Click here to visit HBCUSportsShop
If.....

If I had started into engineering like I wanted to, I would have all the certifications that I'm now trying to get. Instead, I went through the Telecommunications route. Wasted all that time by not going through it the hard way.