Have anyone dabbled in Options?

ThrowForSix

See the Excitement
I started trading options in the late 90s. It was it and miss, just like my stock trading, but I could get into contracts cheaper and make good money if you found a voliate stock. But for the last fours years, I haven't done much. One reason was the bookkeeping for tax records was too complicated. I remember one year I traded quite abit and made some really good money, but Uncle Sam took such a big bite that it left a bad taste in my mouth.

I haven't dabbled yet, but I've been tempted. I've been to the options trader site and read, read, read. I don't think I have a great feel for it and have been reluctant. But since you can get started with $200, I'm thinking about it seriously.

Yes I have. I bought a Navtech (NVT) option about a month ago. One of my boys talked me into it. Man that was a good move. I'm kicking myself because I only bought one. I bought it at 5.0 ($500). It is now valued at 18.70 ($1870). I could have easily bought about 4 of those things. I would have been banking about $5000 in profits in about a month.

Nah. My risk level it way too averse to get into options. They are a zero-sum game and I ain't ready for that yet.

I can?t see anybody buying and selling stocks not being interested in options. To me understanding options is essential if you want to protect your profit, generate reoccurring income, and lower your cost basis for owner stocks. Options like anything you don?t have a mastery of is risky, but once you have this tool in your arsenal you can make money no matter which direction the market is going.
<?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:eek:ffice:eek:ffice" /><o:p></o:p>