A Speech That You Will Read @least 3 Times

PRINCE HALL

Please find a speech and a meassage that will cover all bases. Indeed, the writer needs no introduction. Again it's tight, and
will lift your thinking to another level.

Enjoy.

Trustee Vernon Jordan's Rankin Chapel Address

Howard University
Andrew Rankin Memorial Chapel

Washington, DC
Sunday, April 14, 2002

Once again you honor me with the privilege of standing on this hallowed ground, this revered place, Andrew Rankin Memorial Chapel, here at the capstone of black higher education, Howard University. My romance with Rankin Chapel is 45 years old, ignited when I was a student at the Law School. For those three years, I was here almost every Sunday morning, drinking from Rankin Chapel?s fountain, expanding my mind and broadening my horizons.

And over the years since my graduation, I have returned to this place seeking wisdom, guidance, comfort and inspiration. And to stand here where giants have stood is awesome, frightening and one of the great honors of my life. And I thank you for the opportunity to stand in this pulpit one more time.

There is no doubt in my mind that as graduates of this great University have taken their places in society, raised their families, earned a living, contributed to the community ? the moral, spiritual and intellectual values derived from this chapel have made an enormous difference in their lives ? whether they were fervent believers or doubting agnostics. I stand here as a witness to that truth.

So this is a uniquely special place in the University setting that adds leavening to the bread of life and prepares us to make our way in a world full of trouble. And make no mistake ? this world ? is in a whole world of trouble.