1 week!!!

Antroy

1 week ago TODAY, I FINALLY made a serious commitment to losing weight. I went to the gym in my apartment complex for the very first time. I have been going everyday since last week with the exception of Saturday and Sunday.

It all started with me getting a cold and losing about 12 pounds because I didn't eat a lot, if at all, during that time. Once I got better the last time I decided that since I lost the weight, I might as well do something to lose more. So I hit up the gym.

The first two days, I guess I thought I was Superman because I hit the weights HARD! My body put me in check real quick. My arms were killing me Saturday and Sunday (could hardly lift them) so I took those days off. I came back Monday and decided to take it easy at first.
I'm a beginner at this so I started off with cardio (30 minute walk on treadmill) only on Monday. Tuesday, I did cardio (20 minutes on treadmill) and a little upper body workout (bench press, bicep curl, triceps, etc.). Wednesday, I felt I needed to kind of push myself so I did a little 10 minute run with lower body work (quad and hamstring exercises). Thursday, I'm going back to the cardio and upper body routine.

I need some advice/help on somethings that I can do to help me lose this weight and keep it off. Since I'm just starting I know my metabolism is slow and that my endurance is low. That's why I do the cardio everyday. My main area is weightlifting. I need help on that and eating right. What kind of suggestions and tips can yall give me? My cardio is has already changed from walking to running on the treadmill but I need more things to do.

Congrats man! I think you're off to a great start. Keep it up. For a good start, be sure to evaluate your diet and make sure you are getting your proper nutrition that will enforce both weight loss and muscle growth. Plenty of veggies and whole grains, protien from lean meats (chicken and fish). Set ambitious and exceed ambitious goals.