Atlanta, GA – The Black College Football Hall of Fame (BCFHOF) announced today four Finalists for the Black College Football Player of the Year Award. The Award is presented annually to the most outstanding football player from a Historically Black College & University (HBCU) that embodies the rich tradition of athletic excellence and integrity associated with HBCUs. Former North Carolina A&T State University, and current Chicago Bears Running Back Tarik Cohen was the inaugural recipient of the Award in 2016, and former Bowie State quarterback Amir Hall was selected as the recipient in 2017 and 2018.

The 2019 Finalists include QB Felix Harper (Alcorn State University), RB Jah-Maine Martin (North Carolina A&T State University), WR Chris Rowland (Tennessee State University) and Ryan Stanley (Florida A&M University).

The Finalists were chosen by a five-member Selection Committee, which is composed of Black College Football Hall of Fame founders James “Shack” Harris and Doug Williams, longtime SBN Broadcaster and Director of News and Sports for the Power News Radio Network Ty Miller, former USA Today sports writer Roscoe Nance, and ESPN College Football Analyst Jay Walker.

“The Black College Football Player of the Year Award showcases the immense talent of our HBCU student-athletes today,” said Doug Williams, BCFHOF Co-Founder and 2011 Inductee. “Each finalist has had an incredible season and we are excited to celebrate their success.”

The winner of the 2019 Black College Football Player of the Year Award will be announced on February 22, 2020, at the 11th Annual Black College Football Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony, Presented by the Atlanta Falcons in Atlanta, Georgia. He will be presented with the Deacon Jones Trophy, named in honor of the football legend and inaugural BCFHOF inductee.

“On behalf of the Black College Football Hall of Fame Trustees, we congratulate the Black College Football Player of the Year Finalists,” said James “Shack” Harris, Co-Founder and 2012 Inductee. “These student-athletes represent the very best of HBCU football.”

The Finalists will also be recognized at the Celebration Bowl in Atlanta on December 21st, along with the BCFHOF Class of 2020, which will be televised on ABC.

Courtesy: BCFHOF

HBCU Sports

Florida A&M declares itself 2019 Black College Football Champions

Previous article

Howard football coach Ron Prince resigns amid abuse, intimidation allegations

Next article

You may also like


Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *